Stop Motion

Following an over looked email from Liam (one of my tutors) I realised today that I had been set a task for tomorrow…

 TASK: “What I would like you to do for next week is to try to find me the earliest example of digital media that you can, you can be as inventive, abstract and spurious in this as you want, we will look at those with the earliest dates in the session”. 

Luckily it’s not a 2000 word essay. A simple research assignment..and a very flexible outlook on how he would like me to present my findings. 

 My first thoughts immediately jumped to Eadweard Muybridge’s Animal Locomotive (1877-1878) This is some of his earliest work. I studied Muybridge’s Stop-motion work back in A level days, but that was over a year ago and I’ve done a lot of things between then and now, making my knowledge not quite up to scratch. Time for a recap…

 ‘Animal Locomotive’ – Act of self-propulsion by an animal, has many manifestations, such as swimming, running, jumping and flying.

 Eadweard Muybridge’s use of multiple cameras to capture motion in stop motion photographs and his zoopraxiscope, a device for projecting motion pictures that pre-dated the flexible perforated film strip used in cinematography…. Extract source – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eadweard_Muybridge

Below is a gif which I just generated –http://imgflip.com/gifgenerator

Back in Esher College when I was doing the work on Eadweard Muybridge my brief was to create an animation for the V&A museum. The animation was uploaded to my Tumblr account, but I have lost the password to my tumblr account, almost indefinitely now because I pressed reset and realised I don’t know the password to the email address the account was registered to….. 

George noticed my lack of commitment to doing work, this resulted in him bring down his accounting books and working next to me to entice/makesure I actually did something. This was a huge benefit for me because he gave the idea of generating a gif with the pictures used for my lost animation. 

Leave a Reply

