A Particle System Considered an Original Idea

Here we have a particle System, this not being the simplest one I could find, the basic physics behind it are circles following the mouse around and dropping to the floor.

Just had a meeting with Liam (my course lecturer), to be honest he caught me out helping my self the the kettle on the third floor and asked the dreaded question “how is the project going?”…My response being one of “I could not be any further from the answer you want right now”. To my luck Liam has heard this excuse many a time and pushed me for a meeting to discuss what I was going to do.

Starting focus ‘Particle Systems’, I knew where this was going because my friend Sam Jones had the same thought track leading to the idea getting botched a few weeks ago, but I can be quite stubborn with my ideas and wanted to stick with it.

THE IDEA

To create a Particle System which using a webcam picks up the space of movement people walk in acting as a negative space pushing away particles (small dots) into the space which has no movement. 

THE SYMBOL

This idea is supposed to symbolise that beings are not the only things moving through this world; everything action we take leads to and echo or a response which we may not see, even the movement of an arm causes some sort of motion or power we may not realise.

THE ORIGIN

The idea came from personal experience; having the usual life stories of everything, a realisation has to be made that everything you do has a reaction. 

Here below is a simple example of a particle system and part of the code, I have added part of the code so you can understand what I’m in the motion of doing, I will explain technicals later on.

particles


// Particles, by Daniel Shiffman.

ParticleSystem ps;
PImage sprite; 

void setup() {
 size(1024, 768, P2D);
 orientation(LANDSCAPE);
 sprite = loadImage("sprite.png");
 ps = new ParticleSystem(10000);

 // Writing to the depth buffer is disabled to avoid rendering
 // artifacts due to the fact that the particles are semi-transparent
 // but not z-sorted.
 hint(DISABLE_DEPTH_MASK);
} 

void draw () {
 background(0);
 ps.update();
 ps.display();
 
 ps.setEmitter(mouseX,mouseY);
 
 fill(255);
 textSize(16);
 text("Frame rate: " + int(frameRate), 10, 20);
 }


Leave a Reply

