Concepts…A designer who writes essays

Having just gone through writing an essay for my ‘Cross Media Creativity Perspective’ my brain is filled with what I would call ‘MindBlowingChaos‘ ‘Concept Overload’; working with ‘Participatory Culture’.

Extract from my ‘Cross Media Creativity’ Essay – Focusing on the ‘Doctor Who’ Phenomenon

“Through out this course my position in the cross media sphere has been enhanced; coming into the perspective from a ‘Digital Media Design’ view my knowledge of Cross Media Creativity has expanded to more than just the knowledge of tablets, computers and phones. Being taught that cross media creativity is more that just viewing media on a screen I have learnt that the use of re-inventing a franchise in your own way is part of this perspective. When thinking about productions like Doctor Who I would always consider the show to be running on its own power; the cast and crew creating the show in parallel with the audience enjoyment in the phenomena. This reflects an understanding of the power fluctuations between the creator and consumer. This having a huge role to play with such a big phenomena cross media creativity brings the audience and what they love watching together and allows opportunities to be part of it. This unit has impacted on my future media consumption; a guilty pleasure of mine is watching Doctor Who fan made trailers and now when watching them I don’t just view what someone has created; I view why they have created it that way, what are they trying to say and how could this effect the entirety of Doctor Who. To come with future projects I will now always take into account how it will be consumed and what production values may effect my inspirations. Throughout the unit the learning curve has been hard, but enjoyable giving me an eagerness to learn how much wider the scale goes with Cross Media Creativity.”

Above is an example of my own interpretation of ‘Participatory Culture’, this created by me in First year.

Taking this theory concept in to context I am going analyse a way of ‘maybe’ incorporating it into my Processing piece; taking a Phenomena in the world and manipulating it into a work.

 

Leave a Reply

