What is Processing?

Processing is an open source programming language and integrated development environment (IDE) built for the electronic arts, new media art, and visual design communities with the purpose of teaching the fundamentals of computer programming in a visual context, and to serve as the foundation for electronic sketchbooks.

https://processing.org


processcompendium07

This work above is an example of what can be created through the use of Processing. My knowledge being based in HTML/CSS the potential to create something above through a piece of code is quite over whelming; being able to sit down a use a pencil to create a piece of art similar to the above would have been expressed as ‘common sense’ to a person like me, but being able to use ‘code’ to write a work of art has opened my views to this.processing_workshop_20141010Processing Spiral

spiral2

Above is the result of the code…

Here I’m at a point where I am experimenting with the potential of what could come out of coding, hopefully eventually leading me to the point where I become inspired by something I would like to create.

Here I’m find the repeat of the spiral too simple; something so basic which hasn’t taken me long to create doesn’t satisfy what I want to do.

Moving on the something better a bit more complex

Leave a Reply

