Individual Analysis. Inpiration

What Inspires Me

AmnonOwed-KinectPhysics-03-640x360 AmnonOwed-KinectPhysics-04-640x360These images above are the result of using a Kinect Camera, exactly like the ones used on the Xbox. I see using these as more of a cheat because the camera is already programmed to detect bodies with the use of depth, having half my work already sort out for me, but with further experimentation and me not actually owning a Kinect I am finding it very difficult to manipulate the code so it will use my Mac webcam instead. Using “SimpleOpenNI” which is a library you can install on “Processing” I was going to have a look what some already created code would look like and try and use that as a bases to create my almost “Particle System”.

Why an almost Particle System?

To be perfectly honest I have run out of time to write a Particle System from scratch, my hand in is next week on Monday and the time it would take to go through this process would probably hit a fortnight. No worries though, this is where the “Almost Particle System” comes in.

In the pictures above you can see the shape of a human body which has been developed in to little lines/dots (quite like particles), to me this is stunning. This is how I would draw a picture, the code and developed again what I would describe as a piece of art and I love that. This also reminds of other works I have seen;

Particleswhiteback‘Punktiert’ another library I could develop from; this particles are beautiful, incredibly simple black on white little balls of different sizes working in correlation with each to have a constant movement around the canvas. This reminding me of something else I saw;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfbPlfgzhDI

 Looking into these three pieces I hoping you’re getting an idea of where I want to go with this digital environment I want to complete. I have always found beauty in these little motion, there is so much character and life in the little creatures and it’s all created through the development of letters and numbers. Of course I’m going to create something based of these, they inspire me.

Where I could take this idea?

Adapting these ideas to a digital environment where people can interact through a webcam this idea may work very well with the motion of particles around a body. Like the top two images I could reverse what has been done and put the motion dots on the outside of the body rather than the inside, relating that the second image the black particles would react to a persons body or hand or whatever as a negative space.

Lets get experimenting.

Leave a Reply

