S*** already hit the FAN, or the Mac

As mentioned before I was aware that I MAY need a Kinetic Camera to work some of the code I wanted to experiment with, but it does turn out you ACTUALLY do need a Kinetic Camera to work this code. Below is not the entire of the imported Library, but just a bit of it so you get an idea of what I am looking at;


import SimpleOpenNI.*;

SimpleOpenNI context;
float zoomF =0.3f;
float rotX = radians(180); // by default rotate the hole scene 180deg around the x-axis,
// the data from openni comes upside down
float rotY = radians(0);
PShape pointCloud;
int steps = 2;

void setup()
{
size(1024,768,P3D);

//context = new SimpleOpenNI(this,SimpleOpenNI.RUN_MODE_MULTI_THREADED);
context = new SimpleOpenNI(this);
if(context.isInit() == false)
{
println("Can't init SimpleOpenNI, maybe the camera is not connected!");
exit();
return;
}

// disable mirror
context.setMirror(false);

// enable depthMap generation
context.enableDepth();

context.enableRGB();

// align depth data to image data
context.alternativeViewPointDepthToImage();
context.setDepthColorSyncEnabled(true);

stroke(255,255,255);
smooth();
perspective(radians(45),
float(width)/float(height),
10,150000);
}

endShape();

This is the response I receive when I activate the the file;

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 17.24.53

“You know what that is…**** *******!”

That is a whole lot of red and not pretty at all, with me I never expected it to be easy, but when the code is already created and you just want to see what it looks like you would think that it would work pretty simply.

In the true Lorimer style I am going ignore all the red and look at the white, the key statement here being;

“Can’t init SimpleOpenNI, maybe the camera is not connected!”

The camera is clearly connected!! A Mac Book Air worth almost a thousand pounds comes with an inboard webcam, it might as well come with a kettle and Twinnings breakfast tea for that price and it’s telling me the camera isn’t connected…I need to find out the problem. Be right back.

Later on….

So it’s as I thought, I 100% need a Kinetic Camera.

comics-extralife-kinect-xbox-one-716039The Kinetic camera already has the preferences installed to work the files, hence it being created for Microsoft it’s code is already created to notice people in the room so they can interact with games. Even this being so I tried to channel the source to the webcam I rented from the University and also the Mac cam. Speaking to a couple of people on my course I thought this would be quite simple;

Adding the my void Draw sections;

cam = newCapture(this,320,240,"FaceTime HD Camera", 30);

I thought this would work, but another error appeared explaining that there is no such thing as “cam”. Reading this now you may be thinking to yourself that it’s incredibly obvious that I cannot fix this problem, which I do know now, but I kept on trying to find another way around it.

Looking at the “GettingStartedCapture” CV offer as a basic to learn how a Webcam works on Processing, code below

import processing.video.*;

Capture cam;

void setup() {
size(640, 480);

String[] cameras = Capture.list();

if (cameras == null) {
println("Failed to retrieve the list of available cameras, will try the default...");
cam = new Capture(this, 640, 480);
} if (cameras.length == 0) {
println("There are no cameras available for capture.");
exit();
} else {
println("Available cameras:");
for (int i = 0; i < cameras.length; i++) {
println(cameras[i]);
}

// The camera can be initialized directly using an element
// from the array returned by list():
cam = new Capture(this, cameras[0]);
// Or, the settings can be defined based on the text in the list
//cam = new Capture(this, 640, 480, "Built-in iSight", 30);

// Start capturing the images from the camera
cam.start();
}
}

void draw() {
if (cam.available() == true) {
cam.read();
}
image(cam, 0, 0);
// The following does the same as the above image() line, but
// is faster when just drawing the image without any additional
// resizing, transformations, or tint.
//set(0, 0, cam);
}

I thought by copying a pasting this code into my first file and deleting the repetitive factors it would solve the problem and again I was wrong, but the camera would activate for a split second and then deactivate. This was starting to get annoying….So I went for a chat with a couple of my course mates, it was mentioned that I could try and do this without the Kinetic Camera, but it would involve telling the code to ignore density and go straight for motion, I could imagine how I would do this.

Just for experimenting I was wasting too much time on this particular code, so time to get on to other things.

One thought on “S*** already hit the FAN, or the Mac

Leave a Reply

